Grizzly Bear

Standard

I know it’s been a while since my last post, but life has been crazy! Between my daughter’s 6th birthday, Easter, and getting ready to teach level I at Colorado State University AND DePaul University this summer, I haven’t had much free time.

I’m just going to post one of my favorite lower elementary songs. I’ve used it to practice loud/soft, as well as in programs. I’m summarizing the game below the song…if you use it in a program, you can have students crouch slightly with their hands on their knees, and as they get louder, they get taller. The parents love when they yell “ROAR!” 🙂

Game: Students stand in a circle. One person is chosen to be the grizzly bear. The bear “sleeps” in the middle of the circle while the students sing and walk to the beat to the right. On “please be very quiet,” students stop walking and put their fingers to their lips to “shh.” On “if you wake him, if you shake him,” students get louder and louder. After they yell “roar,” the bear stands up and chases the children until he/she catches another child. That child becomes the new grizzly bear.

2 responses »

  1. This was a great reminder of an adaptation that I have used for many years. Using the book “Tops and Bottoms” by Janet Stevens. There is a large lazy bear sitting on the front porch in his comfy chair. I share with the boys and girls that this is Grizzly’s cousin — and we sing “Lazy bear, oh, lazy bear is sitting in his chair.” At the end, instead of getting very mad, he calls his cousing who is sleeping in a cave. Fun connection to children’s lit and the kids LOVE this Caldecott story.

    Thom

Leave a Reply

